A Mansion or a Cardboard Box

233

When the reality sets in that the person you loved is gone, you’re left with what life is like around you. You realize that the world doesn’t stop spinning just for you. Everyone around will stop and stare as you fall down and then they keep on going with their lives, not thinking about it again.

It’s sad to see that the people around you complain because their parents didn’t buy them a car for their 16 birthday or they don’t have the newest iPhone. It’s especially sad when these people complain and around them are kids who have lost everything to an illness, and don’t have parents. These material things don’t matter to some, because they’d rather have nothing in their pockets and be with their loved ones than have lots of luxurious items and live life without the person they lost.

When my dad died, I realized there was nothing in this world that could make me happy without him next to me. Not even basketball. I learned that life isn’t fair. Other people’s biggest problems are that their mom and dad didn’t buy them the right kind of car they asked for. And then there are people like me, who wonder what will become of themselves when they lose their family. It feels as if you’re the only person who’s life problems aren’t simple, first world problems. I may find happiness in my life in the future, but I will never be as happy as I once was. And realizing this, makes me long for petty problems and not problems that will never be solved, like my own.

I’ve told myself a million times that if I were given a choice between a cardboard box and a mansion, I would choose the cardboard box if it meant I could be with you again.

I’ve come to the realization that not everyone is dealt a great hand. Not everyone gets an equal opportunity in this life. But, it’s too early to fold your cards and give up, because this game is just beginning and you only get one chance.

001

Leave a Reply

