A letter to my Dad

Dear Dad,

369

I’m not going to hide the fact that it has been tough without you dad. You have never left me until now. You were there for all my basketball games and orchestra performances. You are the reason I am who I am today. You came before practice to help me with my shot and you stayed after to make sure I got it just right. You made my dream to become a pro basketball player your job and responsibility to get me there. And I really love you for that and for everything you’ve done for me.

You believed in me when no one else did and no matter what, you were always there to pick me up when I fell down. I know that you’re at peace up there and I hope you’re watching over me while I play and I promise you I will make our dream come true. I love you so much dad. See you sometime in the future.

From, your daughter

I remember the last time I saw you was when you quoted Gandalf the Grey in the Lord of the Rings. We loved those movies and you new that alluding to that would make the situation lighter rather than dark.

“End? This is not the end. Death is just another path, one that we all must take.” 

I know that you are right. Our loved ones never really leave us. No matter what they are always watching; whether it’s from the crowd in the bleachers or up in heaven. They just move from this world and into our hearts where they will always be.

Leave a Reply

